Posted by: Taylor Hoff | March 15, 2009

Go Capitalism!

The new backpack is on it’s way. Or rather, messenger bag. What’d I pick? The Timbuk2 Commute.

And this time I won’t put my coffee mug in it.

What else is on my shopping list this week? “Cool It” , a book on Global Warming, and a Mini Fridge. Perhaps even a Microwave… Gearing up for the big move to college. Eventually I’ll be buying an IBM Tablet PC. The price may be high, but it’ll be well worth it. I can use the webcam/microphone to videoconference with those back at home, and the fingerprint scanner adds extra security. The tablet itself is impressive as well, multitouch and everything. Data aquisition will be a snap with this machine. I’m planning on tricking this thing out to be a veritable computer of epic proportions. 8 cell battery means 10 hours of power.  Communication by video, audio, and text. Data aquisition by handwriting, typing, or audio. Security by encrypting the solid state drive with 256 bit ESA standards, LoJack, and some very nice software that lets it take a picture whenever a failed password attempt is made. Oh, and a Kensington lock, how droll. I’ll have access to any wireless network in range, up to the new standard, N. Whenever I connect, my desktop will show the local temp and forecast. I’ve got it all planned out in my mind. Can’t wait till this summer to post some pictures of it in action.

This is all my way of supporting our American Economy and feeling the thrill of Capitalism, while moving forward into my future with the tools I need to conquer college. Be it heating up ramen noodles or connecting to the college servers to download today’s notes….

Leave a Reply

Categories

