Posted by: Taylor Hoff | December 13, 2010

LGF – Health Care Plan Ruled Unconstitutional

Federal Judge Says Obama Health Care Plan is Unconstitutional

Charles Johnson
US News • Mon Dec 13, 2010 at 9:53 am PST • Views: 6,059

The big news this morning: a federal judge in Virginia has ruled that a key provision of Obama’s health care plan is unconstitutional.

RICHMOND – A federal judge in Virginia ruled Monday that a key provision of the nation’s sweeping health-care overhaul is unconstitutional, the most significant legal setback so far for President Obama’s signature domestic initiative.

U.S. District Court Judge Henry E. Hudson found that Congress could not order individuals to buy health insurance.

In a 42-page opinion, Hudson said the provision of the law that requires most individuals to get insurance or pay a fine by 2014 is an unprecedented expansion of federal power that cannot be supported by Congress’s power to regulate interstate trade.

Finally. Hopefully this cascades into car insurance, and every other form of insurance after that. I’m tired of people making me get things I don’t need or want. Credit score? Gotta have it. Don’t want it. Ergo, I have to have a credit card, and pay an annual fee for one, but don’t want or need to use it. Car insurance? I’m a safe driver, and I probably won’t even use my car this year, but it’s a federal law that I have car insurance, and pay a premium for it. Health insurance is the one kind I’d be OK in having due to my past, and that gets ruled unconstitutional. Wish the government could decide wither it wants to be a nanny state or go Libertarian but it’ll go on, it’s hydra-like heads pulling it in every direction but forward.

At least in a dystopia I’d be able to fight back or counter what I don’t like. Here it’s just apathy mixed with victim-less crimes, talking heads on Fox and MSNBC, and self-righteous hackers with messiah complexes, leaking all your valuable data for the world to see. I’m ready for a vacation.

Leave a Reply

Categories

